“I’m not lost, I’m not just sure where I am.”

I am in love with Copenhagen. I still feel like I am living a dream. Part of that is because Copenhagen is so beautiful. Also, possibly part of that is jet lag. Nevertheless, I am constantly reminded by how lucky I am to experience this. I get giddy when I see a yellow house with a red roof (again). I smile broadly every time I see pastries in a shop’s window. And, I feel proud each time I navigate myself correctly on my own.

Perhaps this is what I’m thinking about the most currently. I’ve always been awful at navigating (just ask my mom) and I constantly rely on Google Maps to get me places, even if I already know where the destination is located. Needless to say, I was extremely nervous about getting lost in Copenhagen, on my own, with no idea how to find my way back. So nervous, that I nearly brought a compass. Though, I still think that would be a great idea! (even though my friends make fun of me for it, lookin’ at you Maggie and Kristina.) I think that’s exactly why I feel so proud every time I don’t get lost.

Now I know it’s only day 2 of going into the city, and I’m bound to get lost many, many times. But I count my victories very triumphantly so far, and with each new successfully found destination on my own, I feel like I can stand a little taller. Traveling on your own might not, in fact, be so scary after all.

So for those who may be wondering why I chose this title, here’s why:
On my way home from the S-tog (the train system), I thought I took a familiar route home. However, I noticed that the houses and the surroundings did not seem familiar. Many of you would call that being lost. Perhaps it’s my naiveté and my optimism, but I just called it being unsure of where I was. Because I saw signs pointing to my street, I knew which way to go to get to my temporary host parents, Dorthe and Jan’s, house. I figured out which road to turn on, and voilà! I was home. Thus, I wasn’t sure where I was, but I knew I wasn’t lost.

This whole lengthy story is to prove a point. I hope that I’ll remember this when I feel completely and utterly lost. Which, I think, is bound to happen. I hope that I’ll remember that I’m only feeling unsure of where I am, and that I will certainly find my way back.

To show you a little of the beauty that Copenhagen has to offer, here are some of the sights today showed me: IMG_5819 IMG_5834 IMG_5845IMG_5844 IMG_5839 IMG_5833 IMG_5860 IMG_5859 IMG_5858